Health & Safety

May 18, 2012

Legal Assistance Tip

Vehicle registration options while assigned to Edwards

California Law ordinarily requires that a person register their vehicle in California within 20 days, “after gainful employment is accepted in this state or residency is established in this state.” C.V.C. ß 6700. However, C.V.C. ß 6701, provides a specific exception for active-duty military members, when the following conditions are met:

  1. The out-of-state license plates are valid and current.
  2. The vehicle registration and license plates were issued in the name of the military member or his or her spouse.
  3. The out-of-state license plates and registration were issued by the state where the member was last assigned, or the state where the member claims permanent residence.
  4. The vehicle/driver of the vehicle is properly insured.

Please note that this exception does not apply to vehicles that are used for commercial purposes – so if you or your spouse has a business requiring the use of a vehicle, that vehicle must be registered in California.

Instead of registering or renewing your vehicle out-of-state, it may be more convenient to simply register your vehicle in California – active-duty military members who register their vehicles in California are exempted from paying a portion of the normal registration fees. California vehicle registration has two components: a flat rate fee based primarily on the class of vehicle (which military members must pay if registering in California), and the vehicle licensing fee, which is essentially an annual property tax based on the value of your vehicle (which members are exempted from paying).

Keep in mind that even with the VLF exemption, your annual California registration fees may run between $50 and $125. To receive the VLF exemption, a California DMV form REG 5045 must be included with your registration application.

When deciding whether to register your vehicle in California, it is important to consider that your state of permanent legal residence may interpret this as an indication that you want to change your state of permanent legal residence to California – which could lead to unintended state income tax consequences. In other words, if you are a permanent legal resident of a state with no income tax, you may not want to register your vehicle in California.

Finally, if you are buying a new vehicle and will be registering it in California, in addition to California registration fees, you will also be required to pay California sales tax.

For more information, please contact the Base Legal Office at (661) 277-4310. Legal assistance attorneys are available 10-11 a.m., Monday, Wednesday and Friday, and 3-4 p.m., Tuesday and Thursday. Paralegals can provide power of attorney and notary services 8 a.m.-4 p.m., Monday through Thursday, and 8 a.m.-1 p.m., Friday.




All of this week's top headlines to your email every Friday.


 
 

 
ecig

Danger: Electronic cigarettes can blow more than smoke

According to a 2014 Center for Disease Control report, cigarette smoking in our nation has reportedly been the cause of nearly 480,000 deaths, with more than 41,000 of these deaths caused by secondhand smoke. In an attempt to l...
 
 
tobacco

Tobacco cessation in-person group classes

Quitting tobacco use can be an uphill battle, but fortunately there are resources to help you overcome this battle. The Health and Wellness Center at Edwards AFB offers confidential small group cessation classes based on the Am...
 
 
tricare

TRICARE Nurse Advice Line offers health care guidance

TRICARE beneficiaries in the continental U.S., Alaska and Hawaii can now access the Nurse Advice Line to receive health care guidance and advice. The service, launched in April 2014, offers professional help by phone at a momen...
 

 

CHPS offers InBody Test

Are you on a diet, looking to get in shape, or trying to maximize performance? Or maybe concerned about your weight? Edwards Civilian Health Promotion Services invites DOD civilians to experience the InBody Test. The InBody is a convenient and accurate way to measure and monitor your body composition. The InBody measures and reports the...
 
 
self-defense2

Edwards defender helps teach self-defense down range

Air Force photograph by Staff Sgt. Jeremy Bowcock Right: Staff Sgt. Cameron Cochran (dark shirt), 387th Expeditionary Security Forces Squadron assistant flight chief, demonstrates one way to push away an attacker during a self-...
 
 

MHS Leadership July Message – Access to Care

Military Health System Team, Since the TRICARE Prime benefit was first introduced in 1995, the Military Health System has established standards by which we hold ourselves accountable for access to health care. The standards are straightforward. If a patient enrolled to a military Medical Treatment Facility needs to be seen within 24 hours, an appointment...
 




0 Comments


Be the first to comment!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>