Salutes & Awards

May 11, 2012

Air Force to be honored service during the 53rd Annual Torrance Armed Forces Day Celebration

Written by: Staff
More articles by »

The 53rd Annual Torrance Armed Forces Day celebration will kick off May 18, with military exhibits at a local mall, static display, military and family barbecue, performances by the Air Force Band of the Golden West and Air Force Drill Team, and a parade with this year’s Grand Marshal being the Secretary of the Air Force, the Honorable Michael B. Donley.

Nearly 200 military and civilian personnel from Los Angeles Air Force Base are expected to participate in this year’s festivities, May 18-20.

This year is especially significant for the Air Force since it is designated as the honored service. All five branches of the U.S. Armed Forces and active guard and reserve military units will be represented during the three days.

Join the Air Force as we take the lead in this year’s celebration. The events are open to the public with free admission. Take advantage of this opportunity to talk to military servicemembers and increase a better understanding of the military mission. See the world’s finest military static display up close and honor the men and women of the armed services for their sacrifices they have made to secure our freedoms.

The Torrance Armed Forces Day celebration is the longest running Department of Defense-sanctioned parade in the country and has run consecutively for 52 years. The first one was held in 1960. The parade has drawn up to 100,000 spectators a year to watch as many as 8,000 parade participants march along the parade route.

For the latest information on schedule and activities for the event, visit


All of this week's top headlines to your email every Friday.



World War II veteran presented POW Medal

Col. Scott W. Beidleman, director, Space and Missile Systems Center, Development Planning Directorate, at Los Angeles Air Force Base, Calif., presides over a Prisoner of War Medal presentation, Oct 25, 2013. The POW Medal was p...

NASA announces 2012 small business industry awards

NASA Administrator Charles Bolden April 23 recognized three companies as winners of the agency’s 2012 Small Business Industry Awards. The Small Business Industry Award Program highlights a large business prime contractor, a small business prime contractor and a small business subcontractor for outstanding support to NASA in achieving the agency’s mission during the fiscal year....

Boeing honors 17 suppliers for exceptional excellence

Boeing honored 16 companies and one university last night with its Supplier of the Year awards, recognizing those organizations’ exceptional performance and contributions to Boeing’s success during 2012. The awards are based on meeting or exceeding quality, on-time delivery, post-delivery support and affordability goals, and demonstrating the ability to anticipate and respond to cha...


Nominations accepted for Portraits in Courage

Now through May 1, nominations are being accepted and reviewed for Portraits in Courage, Vol. 8. “Portraits in Courage is a Chief of Staff initiative designed to tell airmen’s stories of courage, valor, and heroism....

61st ABG named Air Force outstanding unit

The 61st Air Base Group at Los Angeles Air Force Base, Calif., has won the Air Force’s Outstanding Unit Award. This award is presented to numbered units that have distinguished themselves by exceptionally meritorious service or outstanding achievement that clearly sets the unit above and apart from similar units. In a base-wide message, Lt. Gen....

Airman of the Year receives local city’s certificate of recognition

Air Force photograph by Joe Juarez SrA. Levi Mburu (left) receives a certificate of recognition from Hermosa Beach Mayor, Patrick Bobko, during a council meeting March 12, 2013. Mburu was selected as the Airman of the Year for ...


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>