Salutes & Awards

March 11, 2013

SMC annual award winners announced

Alicia Garges
Los Angeles AFB, Calif.

The SMC Annual Award winners pose for a group photo at the Awards Banquet, March 1.

The Space and Missile Systems Center annual awards were presented at a March 1 banquet on base. Awards were presented in 15 individual and team categories.

In base-wide message announcing the winners, Maj. Gen. Terrance Feehan, SMC vice commander, said “these individuals and teams represent the best effort, leadership, drive, determination and professionalism SMC achieved in carrying out our mission last year.”

This year’s winners are:

Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Scott Sweeney

Senior Company Grade Officer of the Year: Capt. Randy Andersen

Junior Company Grade Officer of the Year: 1st Lt. Adam Kruse

Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year: SMSgt. Clayton Watson

Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year: TSgt. Brook Wood

Airman of the Year: SrA. Levi Mburu

Civilian Supervisor Category II of the Year: Richard Bolander

Civilian Category I of the Year: Shonda Johnson

Civilian Category II of the Year: Timothy Greer

Officer Individual Mobilization Augmentee of the Year: Lt. Col. David Lessick

Enlisted Individual Mobilization Augmentee of the Year: Staff Sgt. Andre Stevens

Honor Guard of the Year: SSgt. Carlos Novelo

First Sergeant of the Year: SMSgt. Bryan Tuman

Mission Systems Team of the Year: SBIRS GEO-1 Certification Team

Support/Functional/Administrative Team of the Year: Business Clearance Bull Dogs, SMC/PK

All of this week's top headlines to your email every Friday.



World War II veteran presented POW Medal

Col. Scott W. Beidleman, director, Space and Missile Systems Center, Development Planning Directorate, at Los Angeles Air Force Base, Calif., presides over a Prisoner of War Medal presentation, Oct 25, 2013. The POW Medal was p...

NASA announces 2012 small business industry awards

NASA Administrator Charles Bolden April 23 recognized three companies as winners of the agency’s 2012 Small Business Industry Awards. The Small Business Industry Award Program highlights a large business prime contractor, a small business prime contractor and a small business subcontractor for outstanding support to NASA in achieving the agency’s mission during the fiscal year....

Boeing honors 17 suppliers for exceptional excellence

Boeing honored 16 companies and one university last night with its Supplier of the Year awards, recognizing those organizations’ exceptional performance and contributions to Boeing’s success during 2012. The awards are based on meeting or exceeding quality, on-time delivery, post-delivery support and affordability goals, and demonstrating the ability to anticipate and respond to cha...


Nominations accepted for Portraits in Courage

Now through May 1, nominations are being accepted and reviewed for Portraits in Courage, Vol. 8. “Portraits in Courage is a Chief of Staff initiative designed to tell airmen’s stories of courage, valor, and heroism....

61st ABG named Air Force outstanding unit

The 61st Air Base Group at Los Angeles Air Force Base, Calif., has won the Air Force’s Outstanding Unit Award. This award is presented to numbered units that have distinguished themselves by exceptionally meritorious service or outstanding achievement that clearly sets the unit above and apart from similar units. In a base-wide message, Lt. Gen....

Airman of the Year receives local city’s certificate of recognition

Air Force photograph by Joe Juarez SrA. Levi Mburu (left) receives a certificate of recognition from Hermosa Beach Mayor, Patrick Bobko, during a council meeting March 12, 2013. Mburu was selected as the Airman of the Year for ...


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>