Air Force

October 19, 2012

Vehicle registration options while assigned to March

by Capt. Matthew Mackey
452 AMW staff judge advocate

California law ordinarily requires that a person register their vehicle in California within 20 days, ‘after gainful employment is accepted or residency is established in this state,’ according to California Vehicle Code § 6700. However, C.V.C. § 6701, provides a specific exception for active-duty military members, when the following conditions are met:

  1. The out-of-state license plates are valid and current.
  2. The vehicle registration and license plates were issued in the name of the military member or his or her spouse.
  3. The out-of-state license plates and registration were issued by the state where the member was last assigned, or the state where the member claims permanent residence.
  4. The vehicle or driver of the vehicle is properly insured.

Please note that this exception does not apply to vehicles that are used for commercial purposes — so, if you or your spouse has a business requiring the use of a vehicle, that vehicle must be registered in California.

Instead of registering or renewing your vehicle out-of-state, it may be more convenient to register your vehicle in California. Active-duty military members who register their vehicles in California are exempted from paying a portion of the normal registration fees. California vehicle registration has two components: a flat rate fee based primarily on the class of vehicle (which military members must pay if registering in California) and the vehicle licensing fee, which is essentially an annual property tax based on the value of your vehicle (which members are exempted from paying).

Keep in mind that even with the VLF exemption, your annual California registration fees may run between $50 and $125. To receive the VLF exemption, a California DMV form REG 5045 must be included with your registration application.

When deciding whether to register your vehicle in California, it is important to consider that your state of permanent legal residence may interpret this as an indication that you want to change your state of permanent legal residence to California — which could lead to unintended state income tax consequences. In other words, if you are a permanent legal resident of a state with no income tax, you may not want to register your vehicle in California.

Finally, if you are buying a new vehicle and will be registering it in California, in addition to California registration fees, you will also be required to pay California sales tax.

For more information on when and where you can get legal assistance at March, contact your respective legal office:

For Category ‘A’ reservists contact 951- 655-4454, located at 875 Adams Blvd., Bldg. 115.

Guard members contact 951-655-2308, located at 1620 Graeber St. Bldg. 2270.

Active duty members, contact 951-655-4479, located at 875 Adams Blvd., Bldg. 115.




All of this week's top headlines to your email every Friday.


 
 

 
photo courtesy/U.S. Central Command

Development course builds leadership skills for reserve officers

photo courtesy/U.S. Central Command The 20th annual International Junior Officer Leadership Development Course (IJOLD) took place at Karup Air Base, Denmark, where officers from seven countries participated in events to develop...
 
 

Air Force creates Installation and Mission Support Center

The Air Force is centralizing its installation support management within a newly created Air Force Installation and Mission Support Center (AFIMSC), Air Force officials announced July 11. The change resulted from a comprehensive effort to reduce overhead costs; increase efficiencies; eliminate redundant activities; improve effectiveness and business processes; and will help meet the Defense Dep...
 
 
U.S. Air Force photo/Katherine C. Gandara

AF introduces Total Force Commissioning Process

U.S. Air Force photo/Katherine C. Gandara University of New Mexico Air Force ROTC cadets take their oath of commission in a ceremony at the Air Force Operational Test and Evaluation Center headquarters at Kirtland Air Force Bas...
 

 

IMPORTANT INCIDENT REPORTING NUMBERS AND PROCEDURES

For 24-hour security assistance, call the Base Defense Operations Center (BDOC) at 655-2981 through 2985. Use if you need immediate security assistance Use to report all criminal activity Use to report Resource Protection issues Use to report traffic accidents To report incidents affecting Protection Level 1, 2 or 3 resources, call the Security Incident Hotline...
 
 
AF-to-Every-airman-grafic

AF to every Airman: Tell us your story

WASHINGTON (AFNS) — Air Force leaders want Airmen to share their stories with the world and designed the 2014 American Airman Video Contest with that purpose in mind. “Every Airman has a story — and smartphone tec...
 
 

Pulse on Air Force force-shaping management

Several factors have resulted in fewer Airmen eligible for current and upcoming involuntary force management boards. Air Force leaders recently decided to bolster manning for nuclear-related career fields, an intention to make adjustments to account for budgetary uncertainties tied to proposed force structure changes. Those actions, coupled with previously approved voluntary applications and re...
 




0 Comments


Be the first to comment!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Directory powered by Business Directory Plugin