47th FS triumphs in second consecutive Hawgsmoke

DAVIS-MONTHAN AIR FORCE BASE, Ariz. — The 47th Fighter Squadron was announced the winner and top team overall of Hawgsmoke 2016 at Davis-Monthan Air Force Base, Ariz., June 3.
The remaining results of this year’s Hawgsmoke competition are listed below.

45 High Altitude Dive Bomb:
1. Capt. David Knighton 47th FS, D-M AFB
2. 1st Lt. Christopher Shelley 76th FS, Moody AFB, Ga.
3. Maj. John Meyers 25th FS, Osan Air Base, Republic of Korea

30 Dive Bomb Heading and Altitude Reference System, degraded delivery:
1. Capt. Tyler Shipman 47th FS
2. Maj. Jeff Sliwoski Air Force Reserve Command Test and Training Center, D-M AFB
3. Capt. Ryan Yingling 104th FS, Warfield Air National Guard Base, Md.

10 Low Angle High Drag Pop-up:
1. Capt. Simon Long 47th FS
2. Lt. Col. Alan McCracken AATC
3. Capt. David Knighton 47th FS

Long Range Strafe:
1. Lt. Col. John Marks 303d FS, Whiteman AFB, Mo.
2. Capt. Ben Best 107th FS, Selfridge Air National Guard Base, Mich.

Low Angle Strafe:
1. Capt. Josh Woodard 354th FS, D-M AFB
2. Capt. Max Sery 25th FS

Top Conventional Team (Maj. Jeff Watterberg Trophy):
1. 47th FS

Top Tactical Team (Capt. Steve Phillis Trophy):
1. 25th FS

Top Overall Pilot (Lt. Col. Robert Brown Trophy):
1. Capt. David Knighton 47th FS

Thank you to all who participated and congratulations to the winners of this year’s Hawgsmoke! See you in 2018!


More Stories From This Author

DM hosts 2022 Freedom Fest
By Airman 1st Class Paige Wheldom
195th FS gets new commander
By Air National Guard photographs
563rd RQG welcomes new commander
By Aerotech News & Review
DM member wins Air Force...
By Airman 1st Class William Turnbull