NTC, Fort Irwin commends civilians, servicemembers

Leadership and community members of this military installation congratulated Department of the Army civilians and servicemembers for their service and accomplishments during a ceremony here, July 13.

National Training Center and Fort Irwin Deputy Commander Col. Matthew Moore presided over the ceremony, which honored seven DA civilians, one non-commissioned officer and two Soldiers.

The civilians recognized: Charletta Zamora-Cruz, of Installation Management Command, for 20 years of service; Phylilis Huey, with IMCOM, for 20 years of service; Evita Bradley, of IMCOM, for 30 years of service; Kimberli Hamilton, with United States Army Medical Department Activity, for 35 years of service; Venita Hawkins, of Operations Group, for 30 years of service; Gregory Robinson, of Mission and Installation Contracting Command, for 30 years of service, and; Curtis Russell, of 916th Support Brigade, for 30 years of service.

Moore said it is important to recognize excellence in service and described the civilians as part of an outstanding team.

“Their efforts have exemplified the Army civilian corps creed,” Moore said. “That is, they are members of the Army team, dedicated to the Army, supporting the mission – and most importantly – providing stability and continuity during war and peace, all tenants of the Department of the Army civilian creed.”

Hawkins, a security specialist/manager with OPS GRP, said it was a blessing from God to stand with Moore, OPS GRP Commander Col. Jeffery Broadwater, and OPS GRP Command Sgt. Maj. Christopher Tipton and be acknowledged for her three decades in the federal government. She expressed pride in being part of the NTC mission.

“Training individual Soldiers and military organizations in preparation for future missions is such an important job,” Hawkins said. “I realize that I am part of an elite group of military members and civilian employees working together to meet this very important mission. I am both proud and honored to be a part of this great organization.”

Servicemembers were honored for winning post-level NCO and Soldier boards of the quarter and year. Soldier of the Fourth Quarter in fiscal year 2015 is Pfc. Elamarcez Ellis of 2nd Transportation Company, 1916th Support Battalion, 916th SPT BDE. The NCO of the Fourth Quarter in FY 2015 is Staff Sgt. Kenith Thompson of B Co., 229th Aviation Regiment, 2916th Aviation Battalion, 916th SPT BDE. The Soldier of the Year for FY 2015 is Pfc. Jonathan Tanner of B Co., 229th AVN REG, 2916th AVN BN, 916th SPT BDE.

Moore remarked the NCO and Soldiers were recommended by their leadership for outstanding performance and potential.

“They were furthered coached and developed to compete in challenging unit and NTC-level boards of competition,” Moore said. “Their performance in striving for excellence while simultaneously excelling at their day-to-day duties is indeed impressive.”

The accomplishments recognized that afternoon serve as an example to all, said Moore. It is also a reminder of why “we all serve in this place to lead and support America’s greatest resource – its sons and daughters who have volunteered to serve.”

More Stories From This Author