Vehicles driven on base now required to pass inspection


Federal (military and civilian) employees at Luke Air Force Base began receiving emails Wednesday from, titled “Action Required: Vehicle emission testing self-certification is due within 30 days.”

This is a self-certification tasking allowing the Air Force to demonstrate compliance with a federal requirement of the Clean Air Act, Section 118(d) (42 U.S.C. §7418(d)). The statute requires all federal employees to meet the vehicle inspection/maintenance program (smog check) requirements of the location where the member is employed. Luke is located within an enhanced I/M program area.

Compliance with the CAA requirement had previously been accomplished through the issuance of base decals (window stickers). The decals were discontinued due to posing a possible security weakness, hence, leaving the installation in a noncompliance status.

The self-certification program is being used to, once again, show compliance with the CAA requirements and fully complies with requirements. Luke is one of two remaining Air Force bases to go “live” with the registration process. Davis-Monthan AFB, Arizona, implemented the program in January 2014.

What does this mean to you?

If your vehicle is registered in Maricopa County, you will need to provide the year, make and model of the vehicles you drive on base 60 days or more a year. You will also need to know when your emissions test was done and the month and year it expires (two years after it was conducted).

If your vehicle is registered outside of Arizona and you do not meet one of the exemptions listed below, you will be required to have your vehicle emissions tested.


  • vehicle is five years old or newer
  • vehicle is a 1967 model year or older
  • vehicle is a diesel vehicle
  • vehicle is a hybrid
  • vehicle is an electric vehicle
  • primary vehicle is a motorcycle
  • vehicle is rated at 90cc or lower
  • you do not drive on Luke AFB 60 days or more a year

An emissions test from another state can be used to meet the requirements. You will need to know the county where the emissions test was conducted and the year it expires. If you are exempt from your licensing state inspection due to being stationed outside of that state, you will have to have an emissions test performed in Maricopa County. You do not need to register your vehicle in Phoenix but you will have to comply with the test.

For more information regarding the Air Force Vehicle I/M Program, call Robert Tetla at 623-856-6890.